Eydhafushi wins C’ship

Eydhafushi wins STO Minivan Championship after beating Thimarafushi by 1-0 in a competitive final played in the capital Male’.

Eydhafushi, a strong footballing force of Maldives in the early 90s, took the lead in the 9th minute when Saamee Ibrahim’s long range effort found the back of the net.

Supporters of both teams did their part in the game and Thimarafushi was the dominant side in the second half but with Eydhafushi keeper Ziyazan in top form Thimarafuhi was unable to find an answer.

Both teams were in the same group in the group stage games played in Thimarafushi where the home side won the game by a single goal.

Minivan Championship is open to all the atolls and atoll champions meet their counterparts in the same zone to become zone champions. The champions of 8 zones grouped intwo two of four each and play to win the championship.

As the winners, Eydhafushi will compete Dhivehi League’s top four in next year’s President’s Cup.

Related Post