News SAFF C'ship

Bangladesh Ready to Host SAFF Suzuki Cup 2018

The 12th edition of the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship is all set to kick off on Tuesday at Bangabandhu National Stadium Dhaka in Bangladesh. Seven member nations of SAFF namely India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Maldives Bhutan and Sri Lanka will feature in the SAFF Suzuki Cup 2018.

The tournament will kick off on Tuesday afternoon with the Group A match between Nepal and Pakistan. Same day in the evening host Bangladesh will face Bhutan. Group B consists Maldives Sri Lanka and defending champions India. Teams have already started arriving Dhaka for the tournament.

Maldivesoccer met General Secretary of South Asian Football Federation, Anwarul Huq to talk about the preparations as it is less than 48 hours to kick off.

We have done almost everything which is required. Preparations are all going very well. We are now welcoming the teams.

South Asian Football Federation (SAFF), in association with Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) has done a brillian job in preparation for the prestigious tournament. BFF has allocated four training grounds for the vising teams.

The teams are accommodated in two hotels; Fars Hotel and The Westin Hotel.

SAFF has also carried promotional activities in Dhaka including posturing around the city and announcing about the tournament through different mediums. SAFF has also invited all primary and high school students in Dhaka for the tournament.

The tournament gets underway on September 4 with the final slated to be held on September 15. All the matches will be staged at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka.

Photo: SAFF General Secretary Anwarul Huq with FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

Related Post